Soldering... clearly I'm doing something wrong

If it doesn't fit below then post here and see if another FB EK fanatic can help you out.

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

Harv
State: NSW

Soldering... clearly I'm doing something wrong

Post by Harv »

You would think that soldering two wires together would be a pretty simple task. I'm self-taught, so any bad habits I have are my own. When I attempt to solder, I've got about a 75% success rate. 25% of the time it just doesn't work. The wires refuse to tin, get hot and oxidise. I get little blobs of solder sticking to the wire rather than solder wicked up into the strands. This happens even if I put enough heat into the wire to melt the PVC insulation. It's made me gun-shy of soldering, and I tend to install crimp terminals instead (my terminals are a lot more professional - bare brass lugs, crimped with the correct forming tool instead of a masher, and heat-shrinked). There are times though (as I found out again this week) where you just have no choice but to solder (in this case, reconnecting a wire back onto a soldered stub of a terminal on the side of a motor).

The wires I work with are typical automotive mult-strand copper (10-30A). I strip the wires, leaving enough for the solder (maybe 5mm-10mm). Sometimes I use new wire, sometimes no choice but to use old stuff when wiring back into an old harness. The new stuff is bright and coppery, sometimes the old stuff looks like either silver (tin?) or is oxidised. I try to cut wire back enough to get clean wire but sometimes you have not enough length to go cutting back much.

I know you should make a mechanical joint (by twisting or braiding the two wires together before soldering) but I usually don't. My wires are under very little load. In any case, the strength of the joint is not the problem... getting the solder to work is.