Distractions

Got something else that you want to show off that's not an FB or EK? Try this section.

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

Orange Betty
State: NSW

Distractions

Post by Orange Betty »

A few months ago I retrieved my 1988 Range Rover Classic from a property it had been at for the last 5 years. And prior to that not driven much for a good few years. Its an early EFI version and was dual fuel then running lpg only but retained the original fuel system. Been trying to get it going but can't yet get power to the injectors - so many wires.... :econfused:
Rangie.jpg
Rangie.jpg (42.23 KiB) Viewed 610 times
I've also been taking a closer look at this
Yellow Car.jpg
Yellow Car.jpg (267.18 KiB) Viewed 610 times
YC2.jpg
YC2.jpg (48.85 KiB) Viewed 610 times
Locally known as Yellow Car it is on the mountain bike/walking track near my house. I've been riding past it for the last 20 years but doing less riding lately and more walking I decided to take a closer look.

On first look I spied the starter motor had been removed but was just sitting in the bay but still wired up. A tug on it freed it up and I thought I may as well take it home. A starter motor gets pretty heavy on a hilly 3km walk! Anyway, bench tested it and it works. I've got a couple of junk holden 6 cylinder engines that I want to rebuild as practice for building Betty's grey motor and I'm lacking a few things like the starter motor. I've since retrieved the fuel pump (no bowl), oil pump (looks good), manifolds and thermostat housing. Also been treking in every day and cracking the head bolts as one of my blocks is lacking a head. It's taken a few trips with a busted 1/2 to 3/8 socket adaptor, stripped rocker cover bolts so I couldn't get inside and needed to take my butane torch. It's about a 10 minute walk from the nearest place I can park so I plan to wander in tomorrow with a trolley and liberate the head.

Dave
62 EK Sedan in slow progress
Blacky
State: WA

Re: Distractions

Post by Blacky »