Wilma FB project

Post photos of your pride and joy, or updates on your rebuild!

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

Brett027
State: NSW

Wilma FB project

Post by Brett027 »

I have been working on Wilma for 2 years on and off and have decided to bite the bullet. I'm sure there will be nothing new come out of this post, but it's only fair to put something out there, given I have received so much from the forum to help me.

Wilma was a serendipitous find that came about from a cup of coffee while holidaying with my wife Kate on the NSW south coast in March 2019 for a week. To fill in time I grabbed a copy of Just Cars ( I think a basket purchase was underway in the shop next door) and there she was! I had only recently retired and we both agreed I needed a project: I'm suspicious there were motives involved here that I was unaware of.

A phone call and a few extra pictures sent and the deal was done. it probably wasn't the best deal I'd ever made, but the car was an FB and it was more or less complete (annoyingly less as it turned out). 4 days later and she arrived on a tilt tray to change my life forever.
My first sighting of Wilma. Photographers beware. I knew the street and house number because of this photo long before the owner was convinced I was buying.
My first sighting of Wilma. Photographers beware. I knew the street and house number because of this photo long before the owner was convinced I was buying.
1546839159_img_0298.jpg (1.51 MiB) Viewed 5196 times
Sucker for a rusty bomb
Brett027

Re: Wilma FB project

Post by Brett027 »

Astute observers may notice there are a few things awry. Like there was no outer sill. A few more photos showed a mixed bag of the good the bad and the ugly.
There was an engine. A mighty grey. A Repco reconditioned motor that had done 12k miles.
There was an engine. A mighty grey. A Repco reconditioned motor that had done 12k miles.
1546839162_img_0307.jpg (1.5 MiB) Viewed 5195 times
Sucker for a rusty bomb
Brett027

Post by Brett027 »