1 or 2 speed wiper motor

Includes wiring and battery, generating system, starting system,
ignition system, windscreen wipers, lighting system and instruments and gauges.

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

briby
State: VIC

1 or 2 speed wiper motor

Post by briby »

Hi guys, rewiring Helenor and fixing the wipers. My electrician says it has single speed motor, from research today all photos of single speed show 2 connectors, 2 speed photos show 3 connectors with some kind of electronic resistor/thingamy jig. This is the only photo i have, to me it would be 2 speed, but then again, i'm not an electrician.
engine bay mods 2.jpg
engine bay mods 2.jpg (86.05 KiB) Viewed 1794 times
Bit hard to make out with all the black paint, but definitely 3 connectors.
A place for everything and everything in it's place, just can't remember where that place is.
EK283
State: NSW

Re: 1 or 2 speed wiper motor

Post by EK283 »

Mate I'm going 2 speed.

For 2 reasons, one is the 3 terminal as you have said and the 2nd is because to have this car pass engineering in NSW it has to have 2 speed wipers.

Regards Greg
So many cars so little time!
briby

Post by briby »

Thinking about it a bit more, i never thought about the motor being 1 or 2 speed, in the build Scoob had said his mate worked to the wee hours one night trying to get them to work, and he succeeded in having 2 speeds, but i think by playing with the internals of the original switch and getting power out from the second position. But what ever they did hasn't proved to be permanent, the switch knob/shaft feel loose and sometimes have 1 speed, both, sometimes slow speed in second position, sometimes nothing, so will be fitting a later model switch with push button washer. Thanks Greg, a bit of back up for when i see my sparky on Tuesday.
Cheers
Briby
A place for everything and everything in it's place, just can't remember where that place is.
EK JAY

Post by EK JAY »

Hey Brian :)