Gearbox and clutch leaks

Includes clutch, transmission, propeller shaft,
universal joints, differential and rear axle.

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

59wagon
State: WA

Gearbox and clutch leaks

Post by 59wagon »

Hi All,
The FB hasn’t moved for a couple of weeks and I’ve got 3 small oil puddles on the floor.

One from the gear selector thingy

Another from the clutch actuator thingy

... and another from the front of the motor somewhere, but I’ll have to take the bottom bash plate? off to see from where exactly.
I’m no mechanic, but I’ll have a go unless it’s beyond me. Any advice on where I should start with the first two leakers?

Thanks in advance,

John

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Errol62
State: SA

Re: Gearbox and clutch leaks

Post by Errol62 »

Clutch slave cylinder may be leaking fluid or it could be coming from elsewhere. Hydraulic fluid is easy to distinguish from oil. For a start it will be cleaner. Fair chance the rubber is shot. If so you can have a go at cleaning up the barrel with emery paper and fit new rubber after cleaning it all up.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
getting my FB ute on the road
EK van on rotisserie
Blacky

Post by Blacky »

I would replace the gearbox seal and fit a new slave cylinder - they arent expensive.

Leaks from the front of the donk are probably timing cover seal related, you will need a harmonic balancer puller tool to remove the harmonic balancer. Grey motor balancers are different to the norm , you cant use a normal 3 leg type or universal puller on them.
When you're faced with an unpleasant task that you really don't want to do, sometimes you just have to dig deep down inside and somehow find the patience to wait for someone else to do it for you.

Foundation member #61 of FB/EK Holden club of W.A.
ardiesse
State: NSW

Post by ardiesse »

John,

"If your Holden isn't leaking oil, it doesn't have any."