Firing up an EK ute - Hamilton VIC

Post photos of your pride and joy, or updates on your rebuild!

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

newi
State: NOT ENTERED

Firing up an EK ute - Hamilton VIC

Post by newi »

Hi guys,

My first of many posts here I hope!!

We have an old EK ute that I really want to get going and drive around again. It was DRIVEN into a shed probably 10 years ago and that is where she has sat since.

I don't want to do anything outrageous to it - just clean it up and get it back on the road.

I am what you would call a car enthusiast but I am not a mechanic or a body worker... but I would be willing to give it ago.

All of that aside I am wondering if anyone is from the Hamilton (VIC) region that would be kind enough to give up some of their time to have a look at the car, see what it needs and share some valuable restoration contacts with me and a ball park estimation of cost. Once I get it on the road running again I will spend the time working on the body and get it all schmicko!! The only problem is that I am currently living in Melbourne and as mentioned - the car is in Hamilton.

It was running when we parked it up, it had issues with the brakes so these will need to be done.... The body looks good - but unsure what lurks under the car that could cause issues with roadworthy's etc.

Hopefully you guys will be kind enough to share some of your experiences so I can get the ball rolling on this one.
Blacky
State: WA

Re: Firing up an EK ute - Hamilton VIC

Post by Blacky »

Welcome to the forum newi - best thing to do is get lots of pics and post them up here , theres a section in body panel and paint that shows you where to look for rust , have a good read then check your ute in these spots.
When you're faced with an unpleasant task that you really don't want to do, sometimes you just have to dig deep down inside and somehow find the patience to wait for someone else to do it for you.

Foundation member #61 of FB/EK Holden club of W.A.
parisian62