Hydra lost gears

Includes clutch, transmission, propeller shaft,
universal joints, differential and rear axle.

Moderators: reidy, Blacky

Aussy Edo
State: QLD

Hydra lost gears

Post by Aussy Edo »

Dudes,
Got within 150m of home last night and the car lost Drive and started making a whirrrrrrring sound. I pulled over and turned it off.
The hydra gear box locks the wheels when in Park like it should but in all other gears it free wheels like it is in Neutral.
The fluid looks ok although i havent drained it yet, was just going off the dipstick.
Havent had an issue with the Hydra since i have had the car so am unfamiliar with the set up.
Sounds like a selector of some sort may have snapped inside the box but why would it still be whirring in Park and Neutral?
I can probably take a video of the sound its making if that would help to diagnose the issue
Thoughts please Gearbox Gurus!!
Edo
One Day Hopefully!!
Harv
State: NSW

Re: Hydra lost gears

Post by Harv »

Edo,

I'm no hydra expert (it's on the list of things to do... couple of boxes under the house and nearly a full set of GMH service tools, just need the time), though the GMH hydra workshop manual suggests the following:
a) low oil level (needs to be checked in Park with the engine running... I learnt that one the dumbarse way when I owned my first traumatic).
b) low oil pressure (mostly a tear-down job, unless the filter is blocked - filter change is a DIY task).
c) incorrectly adjusted shift linkage (not likely in your case as you had it running, but a DIY check with only a feeler gauge needed).
d) band adjustment (can be a DIY job if you have a torque wrench that can adjust down to 100 inchpounds... not footpounds!).
e) band servo not applying (tear-down job).
f) coupling exhaust valves stuck open (tear-down job).
g) Blocked oil passage (coupling feed or band apply - tear-down job).